“That Thing”

“You know what I miss more than anything else?” I asked.

“Sunshine and 80 degree weather?” he suggested.

I laughed. “Yes, God knows I miss that! It’s below 30 degrees today!”

We were seated  in our usual place in the far corner of the coffee shop watching the snow gently falling outside. I’m a tropical person and after living here for 10 years, I still have yet to get used to this cold, unfeeling weather. He, who was born and raised in this icy climate, takes the weather changes in stride. He knows no other way.

I continued. “I miss having great sex.”

A round of coughing erupted from my companion. Or was it laughter? Perhaps a mix of both.

“And WHAT is so funny about that?” I demanded.

He attempted to control his fits of coughing-laughter by ingesting large gulps of his coffee.

“I-I-I’m sorry!” he managed to squeeze out in between giggles. “I didn’t mean to laugh so hard!” More laughing ensued.

“Well I’m happy that my lack of sex life is so amusing to you!” I fumed, perhaps faking my annoyance a little bit. I added, “It’s not like you’re having any either!”

His laughing subsided and he sobered up. “Yeah that’s true. But I’m not living with my husband, am I?”

4 thoughts on ““That Thing”

Leave a Reply

