Philosophy of Marriage

Cicero“Sometimes, with the best intentions, your marriage will fail and your children will disappoint you,” Cicero announced.

“That’s a very dour outlook on life,” replied Homer.

The two men walked through the garden gates and sat at the feet of the statue of Zeus at Olympus.

Cicero continued. “I try to be realistic about these things. In my lifetime — and I’ve lived considerably longer than you, my friend — I have seen many spouses dream and end up with nightmares. It’s an undeniable fact that you could do everything right in a marriage and still have the worst outcome.”

Homer, not to be outdone by the much older Roman poet, shook his head. “Cicero, I know you are of a different time and place, however, today’s couples, at least in Greece, can proudly affirm that love conquers all. Perhaps it is because I have youth on my side and I may have my head in the clouds. I have said it before, Cicero:

Homer_British_MuseumThere is nothing more admirable than when two people who see eye to eye keep house as man and wife, confounding their enemies and delighting their friends.

The Greek poet clapped Cicero on the back and grinning broadly, declared, “Marriage is a beautiful thing, my friend!”

Cicero scratched his chin and then, grasping Homer’s shoulder, he affirmed, “In a perfect world, it takes two people to make a marriage work. But in practice, it’s mainly one person choosing his or her battles and deciding not to execute the other person for their irritating habits.”

And, that, Homer could not deny…

So the Roman orator and the Greek poet exited the garden – with its statue of Zeus – and continued their walk, discussing the meaning of life and their ability to co-exist simultaneously.

4 thoughts on “Philosophy of Marriage

Leave a Reply

