No more resolutions!!

I love the start of a new year! A chance to begin anew and to repair all the crazy things that we managed to get away with in the previous year.

NY resolutionsUnfortunately, as great as I am at creating new year resolutions, I’m an absolute failure at the follow through. I do try my level best, but my success rate is tragically well below par. In fact, I believe that for every year that I’ve resolved to lose 20 lbs, I’ve ended the year gaining about 5.

Dictionary.com describes a “resolution” as a “decision or determination.” So I did masterfully decide upon some improvements in my life last year this time, but my determination was weak and ineffectual.

I have no excuses. The truth is that like most of the population, the first week of January I’m filled with high hopes and good intentions. Then by February 1, we can’t even remember what all the fuss was about one month earlier. Definitely, by the summer, all plans of getting to the office by 9:00 am was a distant memory and I continued to waltz in at 10:00 am and leave at 7:30 pm.

Perhaps what I need to do is tighten up on my determinationIt’s not deciding what to do or how to get it done that’s my issue; it’s my firmness of purpose. 

determination snippet

Like the definitions above, I need more tenacity, staying power, and perseverance. I need some moxie!

So this year, I’ll dust off the main resolutions from last year, reduce the plan to a manageable number, and focus all my efforts on achieving them.

  1. Training1I must get to bed before midnight
  2. I must get to work by 9:00 am.
  3. I must leave the office by 6:00 pm.
  4. I must stick to my eating and exercise plan
  5. I must not sit at my desk all day

It’s not too much to ask, is it?

I’ll work on my pertinacity (I couldn’t just throw away that word, could I?) and be determined to succeed in 2015.

Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “No more resolutions!!

Leave a Reply

